Sunday, October 25, 2009

Vili is unbeaten in 25 competitions

The biggest current and running winning streak could be registered in single event after the track season 2009 by New Zealand´s shot put world and olympic winner Valerie Vili with 25.

But in terms of all events Usain Bolt has also 25 winning races in a row at four distances.

Vili is unbeaten in 25 competitions in a row (including indoor). Her last defeat happened at IAAF World Athletics Final 2007 (Sep 23) to Belarussian Nadezhda Ostapchuk by 5 cm (20.45-20.40). On the second place in terms of number of unbeaten competitions is Kenenisa Bekele at 5000 m with 17 in a row. He lost last time at this distance at London Grand Prix 2006 (July 28) to Bernard Lagat (12:59.22 to 13.00.04).

But concerning the time period the longest is Bekele´s 10 000 m winning streak as he never lost a race in this event starting with his first one in 2003 what was in Hengelo on June 1 and the current number of races is 12. Over 10 unbeaten in a row also by LaShawn Merritt at 400 m with 13 since Weltklasse Zurich Meet on Aug 29, 2008 (Wariner beat him with 43.82 over 44.43). Next to follow is Usain Bolt when we consider only single events with 11 not lost at 100 m and the same 11 at 200 m. He last time lost a 100 m at DNG meet in Stockholm on July 22, 2008 by 0.01 to Asafa Powell (9.88-9.89). His last 200 m defeat happened at Van Damme Memorial 2007 in Brussels (Sep 14). He finished third (20.14) to Wallace Spearmon (19.88) and Xavier Carter (20.04). But counting both events together he is unbeaten in 22 races in a row and when we include all other races (150 m, 400 m) it is 25 in a row. Over 10 unbeaten competitions in a single event by two more female athletes. Cuban triple jump world champion Yargelis Savigne is at 13 in her event (including indoors), her last loss in 2008 at Olympic Games in Beijing (5th). She could have done more, but was send home after World Championships in Berlin by her federation. Sanya Richards is at 10 at 400 m, her last defeat in her first meet of 2009 in Kingston on May 2 (51.12 to Novlene Williams-Mills 50.99). Women´s longest winning streak concerning the time relation is Tirunesh Dibaba at 10 000 m. She as Bekele did never lost a race here starting in Sollentuna on June 28, 2005 with current number of six.